Spirit, Open My Heart

Last night, we sang a song at church that spoke to the questions I had wrestled with all day.  The questions boil down to one:  God, why not me?

I don’t know why my life looks the way it does, but here is the song.  (It has a sort of lilting, Irish tune, if you are trying to sing along.)

Spirit open my heart to the joy and pain of living.
As you love may I love,
In receiving and in giving
Spirit open my heart

God replace my stony heart with a heart that’s kind and tender.
All my coldness and fear
To your grace I now surrender

Spirit open my heart to the joy and pain of living.
As you love may I love,
In receiving and in giving
Spirit open my heart

Write your love upon my heart as my law, my goal, my story.
In each thought, word and deed,
May my living bring you glory.

Spirit open my heart to the joy and pain of living.
As you love may I love,
In receiving and in giving
Spirit open my heart

May I weep with those who weep, share the joy of sister, brother.
In the welcome of Christ,
May we welcome one another.

(PS – I would love to punctuate this differently, but this is what I was given!)

~ by Jen on April 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
